The Membrane Protein Disease Research Group (MPDRG) within the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry of the University of Alberta was formed in 2001 when the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Molecular Biology of Membrane Proteins Research Group (established in 1991) merged with the Faculty’s Membrane Transport Research Group (established in 1992).

There are fourteen faculty members in the Group (Drs. Todd Alexander, Joseph Casey, Joanne Lemieux, Elaine Leslie, Xing-Zhen Chen, Emmanuelle Cordat,
Larry Fliegel, Nicolas Touret, Marek Michalak, Harley Kurata, Joel Weiner, Howard Young, James Young and Michael Overduin) with appointments in the Departments of Biochemistry, Pediatrics, Oncology,Physiology and Pharmacology.

Directory of our members:

Name Position Email Address Phone # Location Supervisor
ALEXANDER, Todd Principal Investigator todd2@ualberta.ca 780-407-7098 746 MSB
ALI, Noureen noureen@ualberta.ca
ALSHUMAIMERI, Nada Graduate Student alshumai@ualberta.ca 780-492-1080 4-055 KGR J. Casey
ALTAWERAQI, Reema Graduate Student altawera@ualberta.ca 780-492-1232 725 MSB J. Young
ARMANIOUS, Gareth Graduate Student garmanio@ualberta.ca 780-492-1232 327 MSB H. Young
ARUTYUNOV, Denis Research Assistant denis.arutyunov@ualberta.ca 780-492-0209 734 MSB E. Cordat
ARUTYUNOVA, Elena Research Associate earutyun@ualberta.ca 780-492-3465 451 MSB J. Lemieux
AUGUSTINE, Aruna Graduate Student aruna@ualberta.ca 780-492-1847 347 MSB L. Fliegel
BADIOR, Katherine Graduate Student badior@ualberta.ca 780-492-1080 4-055 KGR J. Casey
BAK, Jessi jessi@ualberta.ca
BANERJEE, Mayukh Postdoctoral Fellow mbanerje@ualberta.ca 780-492-2312 710 MSB E. Leslie
BARONAS, Victoria Graduate Student v.baronas@alumni.ubc.ca 780-492-7361 6-040 LKSC H. Kurata
BEGGS, Megan Technician mbeggs@ualberta.ca 780-492-4424 746 MSB T. Alexander
CAI, Ruiqi rcai2@ualberta.ca
CASEY, Joe Principal Investigator and MPDRG Director joe.casey@ualberta.ca 780-492-7203 4-020E KGR
CHEN, Xing-Zhen Principal Investigator xzchen@ualberta.ca 780-492-2294 729 MSB
CHIU, Mike amchiu@ualberta.ca
CORDAT, Emmanuelle Principal Investigator cordat@ualberta.ca 780-492-0209 734 MSB
DUTTA, Debajyoti Postdoctoral Fellow ddutta@ualberta.ca 780-492-1847 347 MSB L. Fliegel
ESMAILI, Mansoore Graduate Student esmaili@ualberta.ca 780-248-1186 333 MSB M. Overduin
FERNANDES, Daphne Research Assistant djfernan@ualberta.ca 780-492-0209 734 MSB E. Cordat
FISHER, M’Lynn Graduate Student mlynn1@ualberta.ca 780-492-1232 327 MSB H. Young
FLIEGEL, Larry Principal Investigator lfliegel@ualberta.ca 780-492-1848 345A MSB
GAWAD GAD, Sandra Graduate Student gawad@ualberta.ca 780-492-1232 725 MSB J. Young
GROENENDYK, Jody Research Associate jlg2@ualberta.ca 355 MSB M. Michalak
GROH, Carina Visiting German Student carinagroh@web.de 734 MSB E. Cordat
HU, Qiao-Lin Visiting Scholar qiaolin@ualberta.ca 780-492-2307 729 MSB X.-Z. Chen
JUNG, Joanna Postdoctoral Fellow joanna1@ualberta.ca 355 MSB M. Michalak
KAUR, Gurnit Graduate Student gurnit@ualberta.ca 780-492-2312 710 MSB E. Leslie
KHAING, Swai Mon Graduate Student khaing@ualberta.ca N. Touret
KHAN, M. Bashir Postdoctoral Fellow mbk@ualberta.ca 780-492-4577 327 MSB H. Young
KIM, Robin Graduate Student robinxkim@gmail.com 780-492-7361 6-040 LKSC H. Kurata
KRAEMER, Lena Visiting German Student kraemerlena@aol.com 746 MSB T. Alexander
KUMAR, Jitendra Research Associate kumar.jitendra@ualberta.ca 780-248-1186 333 MSB M. Overduin
KUMARI, Alka Postdoctoral Fellow kalka@ualberta.ca 780-492-1080 4-055 KGR J. Casey
KURATA, Harley Principal Investigator kurata@ualberta.ca 780-492-9177 6-126 LKSC
LASHHAB, Rawad Graduate Student lashhab@ualberta.ca 780-492-0209 734 MSB E. Cordat
LEMIEUX, M. Joanne Principal Investigator mlemieux@ualberta.ca 780-492-3586 453 MSB
LESLIE, Elaine Principal Investigator eleslie@ualberta.ca 780-492-9250 710 MSB
LI, Xiuju Research Associate xjli@ualberta.ca 780-492-1847 347 MSB L. Fliegel
LIU, Xiong Graduate Student xiong4@ualberta.ca 780-492-2307 729 MSB X-.Z. Chen
LIU, Yongsheng Technician yl9@ualberta.ca 780-492-1847 347 MSB L. Fliegel
LYSYK, Laine Graduate Student lysyk@ualberta.ca 780-492-3465 451 MSB J. Lemieux
MALHOTRA, Darpan Graduate Student darpan1@ualberta.ca 780-492-1080 4-055 KGR J. Casey
MCLENNAN, Steffane Graduate Student steffane@ualberta.ca 780-248-1186 333 MSB M. Overduin
MICHALAK, Marek Principal Investigator mmichala@ualberta.ca 780-492-3481 355 MSB
OVERDUIN, Michael Principal Investigator overduin@ualberta.ca 780-492-3518 333 MSB
ODUNEWU, Ayodeji Graduate Student odunewu@ualberta.ca 780-492-1847 347 MSB L. Fliegel
O’NEILL, Debbie Technician oneilld@ualberta.ca 780-492-4424 746 MSB T. Alexander
PAN, Wanling Technician pan2@ualberta.ca 780-492-4424 746 MSB T. Alexander
OHLER, Lisa Visiting German Student lohler@rhrk.uni-kl.de 451 MSB J. Lemieux
PASKEVICIUS, Tautvydas Graduate Student tautvyda@ualberta.ca 355 MSB M. Michalak
PLAIN, Allen Graduate Student plainrey@ualberta.ca 780-492-4424 746 MSB T. Alexander
PRIMEAU, Joe Graduate Student jprimeau@ualberta.ca 780-492-4577 327 MSB H. Young
QADRI, Ali aqadri@ualberta.ca
RATHORE, Rohit MPDRG & IRTG Administrator rohitsin@ualberta.ca 780-248-1196 4020 Katz
REHMAN, Saba Graduate Student srehman@ualberta.ca 780-248-4424 746 MSB T. Alexander
ROBERTSON, Kelsey Graduate Student Advisor karobert@ualberta.ca 780-492-7834 425G MSB
ROBINSON, Alison Technologist at24@ualberta.ca 355 MSB M. Michalak
SCHWARTZ, Sara Visiting German Student sara.schwartz@uni-saarland.de N. Touret
SHARMIN, Nazlee Postdoctoral Fellow nazlee@ualberta.ca H. Kurata
SHEN, Fan Exchange PhD Student fshen@ualberta.ca 780-492-2307 729 MSB X-.Z. Chen
SMITH, Kyla Research Associate kylasmit@ualberta.ca 780-492-1232 725 MSB J. Young
SMITHERS, Cameron Graduate Student csmither@ualberta.ca 780-248-1186 333 MSB M. Overduin
SOUEIDEAN, Oliver Research Associate soueidan@ualberta.ca 780-492-7012 722 MSB C. Cheeseman
SWANLUND, Diane Technician dswanlun@ualberta.ca 780-492-2312 710 MSB E. Leslie
TAKYI, Emmanuella Graduate Student etakyi@ualberta.ca 780-492-3465 451 MSB J. Lemieux
TOURET, Nicolas Principal Investigator touret@ualberta.ca 780-492- 3513 4-020H KGR
TRIEBER, Catharine Research Associate ctrieber@ualberta.ca 780-248-1186 333 MSB M. Overduin
ULLAH, Shahid Graduate Student akm@ualberta.ca 780-492-0209 734 MSB E. Cordat
UNGARIAN, Sandra Technician sungaria@ualberta.ca 780-492 7372 4-043 KGR N. Touret
URE, Megan Summer Student ure@ualberta.ca 780-248-4424 746 MSB T. Alexander
VEGA, Hector Graduate Student hvega@ualberta.ca 355 MSB M. Michalak
WANG, Alice Graduate Student alice.w122@gmail.com 780-492-7361 6-040 LKSC H. Kurata
WANG, Caroline Graduate Student ckwang1@ualberta.ca 780-492-7361 6-040 LKSC H. Kurata
WANG, Jennifer Graduate Student wewan@ualberta.ca 355 MSB M. Michalak
WANG, Qian Graduate Student qw7@ualberta.ca 355 MSB M. Michalak
WEINER, Joel Principal Investigator joel.weiner@ualberta.ca 780-492-2761 4-020J KGR
WHITLOCK, Brayden Graduate Student bwhitloc@ualberta.ca 780-492-2312 710 MSB E. Leslie
WILKINSON, Jody Technician jodimwilkinson@ualberta.ca 780-492-1847 347 MSB L. Fliegel
WINKELAAR, Graeden Graduate Student graeden@ualberta.ca 780-248-1186 333 MSB M. Overduin
WONG, Ka Yee kayee@ualberta.ca 780-492-1847 347 MSB L. Fliegel
WONG, Ken Technician kwong@ualberta.ca 780-492-7012 722 MSB C. Cheeseman
WU, Cody Graduate Student cody.wu@ualberta.ca 780-492-1232 725 MSB J. Young
YAO, Sylvia Research Associate s.yao@ualberta.ca 780-492-1232 725 MSB J. Young
YOUNG, Howard Principal Investigator hyoung@ualberta.ca 780-492-3931 327A MSB
YOUNG, Jim Principal Investigator james.young@ualberta.ca 780-492-5895 725 MSB
ZHENG, Wang Graduate Student wzheng4@ualberta.ca 780-492-2307 729 MSB X-Z. Chen